DJing Eurobeat?

Everything that is eurobeat can be discussed here.
rokku
Bad Bad Bad

DJing Eurobeat?

Post by rokku » 05 Feb 2008, 20:45

Hi, I'm new to the forum but I've been listening to SEB for the past 6 years or so. I just bought some turntables and a mixer and now I'm asking the next logical question. How does one go about DJing Eurobeat?

Italo and eurobeat from the 80's seems simple enough. I can find the records and there are CD collections with single songs that seem long enough to mix. But I have no idea where to get the tracks from my SEB albums. Does anyone out there DJ modern eurobeat? Do you spin Vinyl or CDs and do you have a website you would recomend for buying tracks? I guess my last question is also, how is it done in Japan?

I don't know if its ok to mix SEB CDs in public, but seems like the extended versions of tracks on those stopped pretty early on in the series.

MAtRiCks
Eurobeat Boom

Post by MAtRiCks » 06 Feb 2008, 05:44

I always wondered what the mixing in japanese Eurobeat clubs sounded like, but never really got a satisfying answer. The only way to find out would be to have a live-recorded dj set from one of the eurobeat nights hosted by a dj like Boss or Shu.

On the other hand, I can tell you a bit from my little experience with mixing eurobeat myself. I own turntables (SL1200) and mixer (DJM300), and the main genre of music I usually mix is Happy Hardcore. I also own a bunch of Hi-Nrg Attack and Boom Boom Beat records and let me tell you, vinyl eurobeat mixing hasn't proved to be quite the best solution. Not that its impossible, but its fast paced and non-progressive nature requires very swift control over the music, and experienced mixing skills. My experience with mixing various Eurobeat extended mp3s and dj edits (mostly dj Gun edits) on cdjs (CDJ200) has been much more encouraging. Although it remains very hard to perform beatmatching, the easy and fast cueing possibilities that cdjs offer makes it quite approachable.