New to Eurobeat

Everything that is eurobeat can be discussed here.
Bonkers
Euroheater

New to Eurobeat

Post by Bonkers » 03 Oct 2010, 14:22

Hey peeps. I'm new to this Eurobeat genre. I've spent the last 7-8 years of my life devoted to collecting Happy Hardcore music, and for anyone who listens to upfront Happy Hardcore, it's gotten pretty dry which is why I've been searching for new dance genres that still have a fast beat. I own Super Eurobeat vol. 47, Best of 2000, and I've got Euromach 4 & 5 on order. Do the DJs who mix on Eurobeat albums use the actual vinyl/full length versions of the tracks, or do the DJs just kind of copy & paste type of mixing (remember, I'm use to Happy Hardcore cd mixes). I've also noticed that A-Beat C records seems to be, or use to, a strong label, but disogs isn't showing any recent releases by them. I was just wondering if yall could catch me up to speed since the majority of the cds of Eurobeat I own are from 2000.

the_ditz
Euroheater

Post by the_ditz » 03 Oct 2010, 15:20

A-Beat C has been disbanded earlier this year by G. Pasquini (a.k.a. Dave Rodgers). He now has a new label set up called Sun Fire Records under which he is still releasing Eurobeat (although many people are still waiting for this new label to show the flashes of brilliance that A-Beat C had).

As for non-stop mixes, you will generally find that they are more "cut-and-paste" than other more mainstream dance genres. The last Happy Hardcore album I listened to had fairly long transitions of between 30 seconds to 1 minute with the beats gradually being overlayed until one track ended and the next one took over - you will rarely ever find that in Eurobeat non-stop mixes.

Eurobeat has changed quite a lot since even the year 2000, so my advice would be to check out some of the more recent Super Eurobeat compilations (you can hear 30 minute samples if you search from Super Eurobeat on iTunes Japan). Hopefully you'll fall in love with the genre just like I did. :wink: