Where do I begin? [Eurobeat novice looking for advice]

Discussion about Eurobeat making. Hints & Tips, Eurobeat projects, programs, plug-ins, samples and so on.
soikkam
Bad Bad Bad

Where do I begin? [Eurobeat novice looking for advice]

Post by soikkam » 27 Jul 2016, 14:50

Since last week, I've started to revisit my backlog of saved albums, compilations, and seasons of Initial D, and I've remembered my genuine love of this genre.

I'm a big fan of vocally-focused, melodic music genres such as power metal, classical singing, some forms of pop, and until now, I've had little trouble with creating my own additions for those genres until now.

I started searching online for video tutorials, and music theory editorials for various types of EDM, but I'd like to know what you all in the community did/used to learn.

I feel like I'm an above average singer, but I'm a novice composer, so I'm feeling a little lost when trying to enter Eurobeat.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'd also be open to collaborations with others in the community so that I can learn from veterans whilst I grow as a composer. I have no Eurobeat catalogue at all, but I do have some singles, an EP, and a full-length debut, so I'm no beginner when it comes to production, marketing, and recording.

Thanks

BlindedVanguard573
Eurocurious

Post by BlindedVanguard573 » 27 Jul 2016, 22:33

First of all, grab Synth1 and the Euro-Nam preset pack. These are invaluable to a beginner's eurobeat setup. You can use pretty much whatever EDM drums you want, as long as they aren't too deep or chunky (no dubstep drums or anything like that). You want a solid kick, a light closed hat, a striking open-hat and a crash; you can also use toms and snares for fills.

Second, at least how I do it, eurobeat songs should use:
Bass (constantly pounding every fourth note except where you want to let up on the tone of the song)